Denver Broncos blog, news and rumors


[hype it up!]
[Share with Yardbarker]

Published on 10/28/2008 at Tue Oct 28 19:46.
Tagged: ,,,,,,,,,.

Shannon Sharpe (SI photo)

The Pro Football Hall of Fame voting committee has announced their 133 preliminary modern-era finalists for the Class of 2009, with the Denver Broncos being represented by seven former players and coaches. They are former Denver Broncos S Steve Atwater (1989-98), RB Terrell Davis (1995-2002), LB Tom Jackson (1973-86), LB Karl Mecklenburg (1983-94), Head Coach Dan Reeves (1981-92), TE Shannon Sharpe (1990-99, 2002-03) and CB Louis Wright (1975-86).

RB Floyd Little and LB Randy Gradishar are eligible for the senior committee, but were not selected for consideration this year.

Shannon Sharpe should be a lock for the Hall of Fame, lest some real injustice occurs. I’ve already discussed (at length) why Terrell Davis and Steve Atwater belong in the Hall of Fame — there’s simply no reason whatsoever that they aren’t in there. Let’s do it, Hall of Fame voters – get TWO Broncos into Canton this year. I dare you.

Full list of nominees after the jump.

Five Broncos who Belong in the Hall of Fame [BroncoTalk]


First-Year Eligible Nominees

RUNNING BACKS – Larry Centers, Brian Mitchell (also KR/PR)
TIGHT ENDS – Shannon Sharpe, Frank Wycheck
OFFENSIVE TACKLE – Lincoln Kennedy
DEFENSIVE LINEMEN – John Randle (DE/DT), Bruce Smith (DE), Dana Stubblefield (DT)
LINEBACKER – Jessie Armstead
DEFENSIVE BACKS –Darren Woodson (S), Rod Woodson (CB/S)

Additional Nominees

QUARTERBACKS – Ken Anderson, Boomer Esiason, Jim Plunkett, Phil Simms, Ken Stabler, Joe Theismann, Doug Williams
RUNNING BACKS – Ottis Anderson, Roger Craig, Terrell Davis, Greg Pruitt (also KR/PR), Herschel Walker, Ricky Watters
WIDE RECEIVERS – Cliff Branch, Harold Carmichael, *Cris Carter, Wes Chandler, Gary Clark, Isaac Curtis, Henry Ellard, Irving Fryar, Roy Green, Harold Jackson, Herman Moore, Stanley Morgan, *Andre Reed, Sterling Sharpe
TIGHT ENDS – Mark Bavaro, Todd Christensen, Ben Coates, Russ Francis, Brent Jones, Steve Jordan
OFFENSIVE LINEMEN – Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Jim Covert (T), Randy Cross (G/C), Dave Dalby (C), Dermontti Dawson (C), Ray Donaldson (C), *Russ Grimm (G), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Kent Hill (G/T), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), *Bob Kuechenberg (G), Jim Lachey (T), Henry Lawrence (G/T), Mark May (G/T/C), *Randall McDaniel (G), Max Montoya (G), Marvin Powell (T), Steve Wisniewski (G)
DEFENSIVE LINEMEN – Ray Childress (DT/DE), *Richard Dent (DE), Chris Doleman (DE/LB), Carl “Big Daddy” Hairston (DE/DT), Charles Haley (DE/LB), Ed “Too Tall” Jones (DE), Cortez Kennedy (DT), Joe Klecko (DE/DT/NT), Steve McMichael (DT/NT), Leslie O’Neal (DE), Fred Smerlas (NT), Art Still (DE)
LINEBACKERS – Cornelius Bennett, Robert Brazile, Kevin Greene (LB/DE), Ken Harvey, Rickey Jackson, Tom Jackson, Clay Matthews, Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Hardy Nickerson, Chris Spielman, Pat Swilling, Darryl Talley, *Derrick Thomas
DEFENSIVE BACKS – Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Deron Cherry (S), Raymond Clayborn (CB), Kenny Easley (S), Lester Hayes (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), Ken Riley (CB), Eugene Robinson (S), Donnie Shell (S), Louis Wright (CB)
PUNTERS/KICKERS – Rich Camarillo (P), *Ray Guy (P), Nick Lowery (K), Reggie Roby (P)
COACHES – Don Coryell, Tom Flores, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Dan Reeves, Clark Shaughnessy
CONTRIBUTORS – Bud Adams, Gil Brandt, C.O. Brocato, Leo Carlin, Ed DeBartolo, Jr., Ben Dreith, Bob Harlan, Jerry Jones, Art Modell, Art Rooney, Jr., Ed Sabol, Steve Sabol, *Paul Tagliabue, Ralph Wilson, Jr., Ron Wolf, George Young

*On 2008 17 finalists list

  • kerry

    Sharpe will get in this year. no questions asked. Atwater should but probably wont. we all know the HOF voters are biased against the Broncos. but if Atwater player for Dallas he would be the first to go in this year.

  • hercules rockefeller

    The real injustices here are Floyd Little and Louis Wright. Especially Floyd. What the hell is the matter with the seniors committee?

    Sharpe should be a no brainer. Should be.

  • mikebirty

    If Shannon Sharpe doesn’t get in, I’ll swim the Atlantic and come over there and bust some heads.

  • precisiontint

    Rod Woodson too. Made the transition to safety later in his career. Nice. Wonder if he could come out to Dove Valley for a workout?